Too Much Polish?

Free printable Erma Bombeck quote

Everyone loves a clean house, I think.  Living with someone who seems to put a clean and orderly house as the highest priority, I see how it shapes my boys, especially my oldest.

Don’t get me wrong, keeping things clean and orderly has it’s place but when it results in your kids losing an element of their childhood because they are too worried to pull out toys and make a mess because they want to please a parent then something needs to change.

Personally, I sense I have lost most of my polish in the last 10 years.  Right now, the most polish to my day is my boys’ laughter and joy and soaking up as much of it as possible before orderliness sets back in at the end of the day.

I love the quote above by Erma Bombeck.  It’s the reminder to use all the resources and blessings and heartaches that God places in your path to grow, learn, love,  laugh and pray.  It definitely falls into the line of thought we teach our boys about eating which is, “We do not waste.”  God allotted each person 24 hours per day.  Those 24 hours represent our currency.  How we use it or do not use it reflects in our physical, emotional and spiritual selves.

Today’s Challenge: Do not let your pursuit of Polish distract you from the joys and lessons that the unpolished provide. Use every little bit that you are blessed with and be thankful! It’s too easy to miss those moments.

Leave a Reply

